The Christmas Running Survey

 

With just a week to go until Christmas, I thought it would be fun to post something festive and light-hearted with this Christmas running survey that I saw on the Fit for a Year blog (apologies to the originator but I have slightly modified it!). So here goes:

1. Favourite Christmas Song?
It’s a tie between “All I want for Christmas” by Maria Carey and “Santa Claus is Coming to Town” by Bruce Springsteen. Both make me feel Christmassy in an instant

2. Run on Christmas morning or take the day off?
Definitely a day off. Last year I ran on Christmas Eve and Boxing Day. I’ll play it by ear this year.

3. Favourite Christmas tradition?
Just before bedtime on Christmas Eve we all gather round the fire and I read everyone “The Night Before Christmas”. We have been doing it since Matilda was a tot. Sounds cheesy – actually it’s lovely!

4. Are you hoping to find a running present in your stocking on Christmas morning?
Sort of – I am hoping to find a Garmin swim watch!

5. What’s for Christmas lunch?
Good old traditional roast turkey!

6. Do you think “nutrition” on Christmas Day or just let it all hang out?
There are 364 other days in the year for being good. Christmas is for being bad!

7. Hangover on Boxing Day, yay or nay?
Nay!! I’ve already had my Christmas hangover and I don’t want another one!

8. Mileage between Christmas and New Year – high, low or normal?
Normal I hope but with a little disruption!

9. Favourite Christmas food?
Quality Street (we’ve already got through one tin) and my daughter’s mince pies!

10. Favourite Christmas film?
Cate and I got engaged at Christmas and then blubbed our way through “It’s a Wonderful Life” at the cinema. So my choice is easy

11. Where do you spend the holidays, at home, with your parents, extended family, in-laws or friends?
Christmas is about the children. We always spend Christmas in our own home where Matilda really gets into all of the Christmas tradition of hanging her stocking and leaving mince pies for Santa and a carrot for Rudolph! Boxing Day and New Year we often travel to see relatives but this year relatives are coming to us for Christmas and New Year. How did that happen?!

Does our Christmas sounds like yours or is it wildly different (especially from a running point of view). I’d love to hear.

Please feel free to include this fun survey in your own blog and add any more questions that you want. If you do use it please can you mention its originator Hungry Running Girl and the Fit for a Year blog where I found it and of course me! Thanks.
Happy Christmas everyone!

3 responses to “The Christmas Running Survey

  1. My children are grown, so we’ve scaled back somewhat on Christmas, but it still sounds very similar to yours. I probably will run on Christmas morning, though. We have a group who usually runs a 9 mi loop around our city lake, then finishes off with warm spirits (literally and figuratively).

    Like

  2. christmas is such a special occasion ,dads (peter whent) been reading the night before christmas for years Its great I know it almost of by heart. I specially love your results question 11.thanks! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment